News from “The Lab” – New server troubles…

As I recently discovered, my new server is not working as it should.

After some suggestions from my friends, I tried reseating all of the internal cards, starting from the PERC 5i controller and PCIe riser card. None of them made the server to properly boot.

As a last resource I removed the PERC card (the riser card cannot be removed because it’s used to connect the front panel, with power on switch, to the baseboard). Obviously as expected the F/W initializing , along with PERC BIOS messages, didn’t came up. Connecting only the card, removing connections with the SAS backplane, brought me to the conclusion that the problem could reside into the backplane or the disks. If I remove the disks I’m warned about their absence, but reinserting them doesn’t make any blinking LED to came up.

So I suspect that I have to look after some new disks to check and then pray that the problem is not due to a faulty backplane…

More coming…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

